Harry Potter Books vs. Movies

Hey there! I’m Meghna and I’m one of the new guest writers that Artyy here managed to rope up. To be honest, I was supposed to write a movie review for Life of Pi but due to technical difficulties, (which is a nicer way of saying that my Microsoft Word decided to not respond and delete my entire article) I could not replicate the article. A little bit about myself, I love the arts, writing and science. One thing I love as much as the rest is the Harry Potter series and being the nerdy geek I am, I have sworn to learn every single fact there is to know before I die.

One aspect of the Harry Potter Universe that has bothered me for a while is the transcribing of the books into movies. At first glance, I was not a huge fan of the movie franchise as I felt that the directors did not do the best job of accurately translating the books events onto film. However, after bearing in mind that this translation is not particularly easy as the director has to please both the author and the fans while keeping a firm grasp of his creative stance, I admit that the movies were not as bad as I thought they were. In fact they were quite brilliantly made even if they lacked a few of the essential details.

harrypotter-books-vs-movie

The amount of relevant facts that were omitted from and/or changed in the movies is quite astonishing. The change in hair color in certain characters like Petunia and Dudley (blonde to brunette) did bring about some negativity. However such facts are extremely trivial and not relevant in the least. The omission of Hermione’s potion-riddle scene in the end of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was quite disappointing. I felt that this scene helped Hermione prove that she was not just a person who memorized details in books, but a young pre-adolescent girl who could solve riddles that most adults could not. In addition, the very foundation of Harry and Draco’s enmity was weak. In the book, it started after a meeting in Diagon Alley in which Draco would not stop talking, effectively proving himself to be shallow and in need of better priorities. In the movies, this scene was omitted and replaced by a short scene in Hogwarts where Harry simply doesn’t like his attitude towards Ron Weasley, his to-be best friend.

The rest of the movies also omit several facts that may seem irrelevant but do aid the story in the long run. Ginny and Scabbers make vague appearances throughout the Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban respectively; this vagueness does not tip off the audience about the characters’ importance in the story and the end comes across as more of a shock than a “Eureka!” moment. Topics like Hermione’s Society for the Protect of Elfish Welfare (SPEW) were also completely omitted and while these weren’t important, they did add on to the tension between characters. Peeves the Poltergeist rarely makes an appearance and his crazy antics would have been a good source of comic relief in the movies. From Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix the movies had a rapid increase in emotional tension among the characters compared to the earlier books and this was done rather well in my opinion. Severus Snape, is my favorite character in the whole series as Alan Rickman did a remarkable job playing his character exactly the way it was written in the books.

The directors Chris Columbus, Alfonso Cuarón, Mike Newell, and David Yates did a good job on transcribing the books to movies and although they could not please everyone, they still managed to do an outstanding job. Do you still disagree? Then look at the $7,706,147,978 that they raked in for all eight movies combined. As Steven Speilberg said, making these films for these books was like “shooting ducks in a barrel. It’s just a slam dunk. It’s just like withdrawing a billion dollars and putting it into your personal bank accounts. There’s no challenge.”

And there you have it! My first post on ArtyyShire. Hopefully I did not anger any readers and that you’ll read more of my articles in the future!

Leave a Reply

